Milk Tea Tidbits #01

Fizzy afternoon, fellow milk tea sillies! 🙂 Well, these past few days, I can exceedingly appraise that I’m being hooked on milk teas more and more. I don’t even ascertain why! As what I’ve avowed in my first ever Awakening Board for July-August 2013, had those days when I have 2 or more milk teas per day succeedingly. Frivolous me! Hihi! 🙂 Anyhow, with my first Milk Tea Tidbits, let’s adjudge and compare Gong Cha‘s Earl Grey MT with 3J’s and I-Cup‘s Three Treasures, can we?

First, let’s define Earl Grey Milk Tea. What does it consists? Earl Grey is a tea blend with a distinctive flavour and aroma derived from the addition of oil extracted from the rind of the bergamot orange, a fragrant citrus fruit. Traditionally, the term “Earl Grey” has applied only to black teas that contain oil of bergamot as a flavouring. It is a black tea, so it usually has a bold flavor. Unlike Orange Pekoe (which is a tea grade named for the Dutch royal House of Orange-Nassau), Earl Grey has a citrusy flavor.

Its citrusy taste is due to the addition of natural or synthetic bergamot oil. (Bergamot orange is a type of aromatic citrus fruit that is usually grown in the Mediterranean, and bergamot oil is extracted from the skin of the bergamot fruit.) Although it varies from producer to producer, its taste is often described as bright, refreshing and bold.

Thus, that expounds the more unyielding taste of Gong Cha’s baby in this battle. Let’s concede our criteria for judging.

Physical Appearance- 25%

Price- 15%

Clear cut & One off Taste- 60%

Having said that, let’s shed light into the physical appearance of both parties.

(Gong Cha’s Earl Grey Milk Tea with 3J’s)

 

(I-Cup’s Three Treasures Milk Tea- Sorry I forgot to capture a solo photo of it! Hihi!)

Round 1 winner: I-Cup’s Three Treasures MT- It’s not because of Pork Bibimbob’s cheery presence, alright?

The pudding’s worm-like penchant made me surmised I-Cup as the winner though Gong Cha’s score is not that far from the former.

As for its price, well, I disclose a TIE for Round two! Why? Lez say 5 pesos is not enough to make I-Cup the winner again for this particular round. (Gong Cha- P125; I-Cup-P120)

Moreover, let’s move out with the last but the foremost vital round. As what I’ve affirmed a while ago, Gong Cha’s Earl Grey MT with 3J’s has more comely taste due to its robust citrusy taste. Unlike, I-Cup’s, I plumped for it predominantly of its three toppings in one milk tea thing going on it. But since, Gong Cha’s EGMT has its 3J’s in it, as well, I declare Gong Cha’s Earl Grey MT with 3J’s as the Round 3 winner.

Tabulation of Scores:
Round 1(25%)– Gong Cha (21/25); I-Cup (23/25)*
Round 2 (15%)- Gong Cha  & I-Cup (15/15) – TIE
Round 3 (60%)- Gong Cha (58/60)*; I-Cup (52/60)
Overall Score:
Gong Cha’s Earl Grey MT with 3J’s- 93
I-Cup’s Three Treasures- 90

 

** WINNER- Gong Cha’s Earl Grey MT with 3J’s **

Leave a Reply

